Scarborough Town Hall

Scarborough Borough Council was formed in 1974 and replaced the local authorities of; Scarborough Corporation, Scarborough Rural District Council, Scalby Urban District Council, Filey Urban District Council, Whitby Urban District Council and Whitby Rural District Council.

Today the council administers to an area in excess of 315 square miles (816 square km) stretching from north of Whitby to south of Filey as well as covering a large part of the North York Moors. The area is home to around 108,000 people and to the whole of the North Yorkshire coast.